Review Agenda Item
Meeting Date: 5/25/2023 - 5:30 PM
Category: Awards and Commendations
Type: Info
Subject: 2. Presentation of the 2023 WIABE (Wisconsin Association of Bilingual Education) Award Recipients
Strategic Plan Compatibility Statement:
Goal 1
Academic Achievement
Policy: Admin Policy 1.05 - Recognition for Accomplishment
Attachments WIABE 2023 Student Winners and Accompanying Pieces of Work
File Attachment:
WIABE 2023 Student Winners and Accompaning Pieces of Work.pdf
Background: The WIABE Conference is the largest gathering of parents, teachers, administrators, future teachers, and professors dedicated to serving bilingual and multilingual learners in the state of Wisconsin. The 44th Annual WIABE Conference took place April 21-23, 2023, in Wisconsin Dells, WI. Participants engaged in professional learning around bilingual education presented by nationally recognized keynote speakers and workshops led by bilingual educators.

WIABE Educators of the Year, Student Art & Writing Contest Winners & the Tony Baez Lifetime Achievement Recipient were recognized and celebrated at the conference. WIABE was proud to recognize MPS educators and students at this year’s conference. In all, 33 bilingual educators in the state were honored, with 17 of them from the Milwaukee Public Schools district.

They recognized teachers are:
• Samantha Camacho, Longfellow School
• Elizabeth M. Colón, Greenfield Bilingual School
• Dorka Paris Davila, Alexander Mitchell Integrated Arts School
• Itza L. Espinoza, Allen-Field School
• Rebecca Hanten, Milwaukee School of Languages
• Daniel Maldonado, Department of Black and Latino Male Achievement
• Angela Muñoz, Lincoln Avenue School
• Delia Pravia, Escuela Vieau
• Zaidimar Rivera, Forest Home Avenue School
• Silvia Rodriguez, Riley Dual Language Montessori School
• Gladys Rivera González, La Causa Charter School
• Ana B. Santiago, South Division High School
• Cindy Santiago, Morgandale School
• Monica Stanchfield-Bastardo, Kagel School
• Vanja Suvajac, Hamilton High School
• Margaret Villafuentes, Hayes Bilingual School
• Claribel Rodriguez, Rogers Street Academy, was honored posthumously.
The theme for the 9th annual WIABE student art and writing contests was “Welcome to My Multilingual, Multicultural World.” In all, six students—three student artists and three student writers—were recognized as winners, three of whom were from Milwaukee. Each participant received a certificate of participation and winners received a $100 cash prize, 1 night hotel stay at the Kalahari Resort and additional prizes.

Student contest winners affiliated with Milwaukee Public Schools are:
• Miguel Casalegño, South Division High School, Grades 9-12 writing contest winner
• Zayan Montañez, La Causa Charter School, Grades 6-8 art contest winner
• Jer Niah Wright, Milwaukee School of Languages, Grades 9-12 art contest winner, whose artwork was featured on the conference program’s cover.
Fiscal Impact Statement: N/A
Implementation and Assessment Plan N/A
Recommendation: N/A
Recommended By:
Signed By:
Paulette Chambers - Chief of Staff
Signed By:
Keith Posley, Ed.D. - Superintendent