Review Agenda Item
Meeting Date: 5/25/2023 - 5:30 PM
Category: Awards and Commendations
Type: Info
Subject: 3. Presentation of the MPS 2023 Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Award Recipients
Strategic Plan Compatibility Statement:
Goal 1
Academic Achievement
File Attachment:
Background: Each year the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Awards public and private school students' scholarship awards in the categories of Excellence and Initiative; selected teachers receive Honoree Awards; and selected principals receive Leadership Awards.

This year MPS is proud to report:

Five MPS students received the Herb Kohl Excellence Scholarship Award for demonstrating strengths in academics, motivation and leadership.

2023 MPS Excellence Scholarship Recipients
• Diego Alfaro, Rufus King International High School
• Eve Anderson, Rufus King International High School
• Eva Groeschl, Rufus King International High School
• Katherine Jensen, Golda Meir School
• Stephanie Santoyo-Bustos, Milwaukee School of Languages

Four MPS students received the Herb Kohl Initiative Scholarship Award for demonstrating strong initiative in school and promise for college.

2023 MPS Initiative Scholarship Recipients
• Leopold Biel, Rufus King International High School
• Cadarious Farmer, Bay View High School
• Kolaris Griffin, South Division High School
• Keyyanna Guy, Marshall High School

Nine MPS teachers received the Herb Kohl Teacher Honoree Award for demonstrating leadership, service and the ability to motive and instill love of learning to students.

2023 MPS Teacher Honorees
• Virginia Fox, Elm Creative Arts School
• Angela Harris, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. School
• Claudia Heller de Messer, Milwaukee Parkside School for the Arts
• Nicole Labat, Lad Lake Synergy School
• Darren Lipman, Carmen High School of Science and Technology – South Campus
• Francisca Meraz, South Division High School
• Diane Raner, Hamilton High School
• Martha Reyes, Highland Community School
• Erin Sivek, Milwaukee Academy of Chinese Language
• Savannah Thompson, Marshall High School
• Catherine Voss, North Division High School

One MPS principal received the Herb Kohl Principal Leadership Award for demonstrating professional development or a pursuit of unrealized goals in their school.

2023 MPS Principal Honoree
• Shantee Williams, Hawthorne School
Fiscal Impact Statement: N/A
Implementation and Assessment Plan N/A
Recommendation: N/A
Recommended By:
Signed By:
Paulette Chambers - Chief of Staff
Signed By:
Keith Posley, Ed.D. - Superintendent